a peek into my MIND

July 18, 2009

Windows XP freezes and sometimes beeps continuously

Filed under: General — Bharat Kondeti @ 8:44 pm

From past two days I was having this weird problem where my Windows freezes and does not do any thing. Sometimes it freezes up with a continuous beep, other times it just freezes and I have to force windows to shut down.

After doing a bit of investigation online I found out that many people were having the same problem and it’s because of MBR (Master Boot Record) Root-kit that got installed when I visited a infected website. Supposedly these root-kits are new kind of malware that gets installed and replaces the infected computers master boot record. Even though I had McAfee anti-virus installed on my machine it failed to detect the infection. After doing bit more search I found couple of tools that detect these kinds of root-kits and deletes them.

Prevx Scanner

F-Secure Blacklight Rootkit Scanner

I downloaded Prevx scanner and scanned my machine, It found a root-kit installed on my machine and was able to delete it successfully.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

